Applications and candidatures for the 2020 edition of Giulio Gambelli Award dedicated to the master of Sangiovese disappeared in the 2012: the recognition - which in the 2020 reaches its eighth edition - is promoted by Aset Tuscany (Associazione Stampa Enogastroagroalimentare Toscana) and from IGP network - The Promising Young People consisting of Lorenzo Colombo, Roberto Giuliani, Carlo Macchi, Luciano Pignataro, Andrea Petrini and Stefano Tesi.

Every year the award rewards the oenologist whose work has been able to best embody the idea of ​​wine carried out by Giulio Gambelli: exaltation of the characteristics of each grape variety, of the characteristics of the territory and of the vintage year. As in the previous editions, a panel of sector journalists will contribute to the selection of candidates, each of which may indicate up to a maximum of five names.

This year will also be accompanied by the possibility for winemakers, in possession of the requisites, to send their own candidature: a professional who did not pass the 40 years of age and a degree in oenology in the calendar year in which the call was issued.


The award ceremony will take place on the occasion of the Tuscan wine premieres scheduled for February 2020, this year the Award will be hosted by the Vernaccia di San Gimignano Wine Consortium.

In addition to the plaque, a winner of the 1500 euro check is possible for the winner thanks to the support of some of the companies of which Giulio Gambelli was historically a friend and consultant: Bibbiano, Fattoria di Rodàno, Il Colle, Montevertine, Ormanni, Poggio di Sotto. The Chianti Classico Wine Consortium, the Vino Nobile di Montepulciano Consortium, the Brunello di Montalcino Wine Consortium and the Vernaccia di San Gimignano Wine Consortium remain partners of the competition.

The registration deadline is set at 30 November 2019. The competition announcement can be viewed on the website

Here is the roll of honor with the names of the Gambelli Award winners:

Fabrizio Torchio (2013)
Gianluca Colombo (2014)
Francesco Versio (2015)
Sebastian Nasello (2016)
Diego Bonato and Luca Faccenda (2017)
Luigi Sarno (2018)
Angela Fronti (2019)